Area champs highlight pre-tourney poll

Photo by Pete Fritts

Archer’s 18-0 dual record and nine tournament wins keeps the Tigers at No. 1 heading into this week’s state tournament. Archer was historically dominant in the Area 8-AAAAAA duals, topping South Gwinnett (84-0), Parkview (76-0) and Grayson (80-0). No. 2 Collins Hill won its area duals for a 10th consecutive season and have posted a 7-2 record in dual meets this season. No. 3 Camden County topped Lowndes 67-6 for the Region 1 championship. The biggest drama was produced in Region 5, where Etowah topped Roswell by one point for the area championship. The Eagles’ region crown earns them the No. 4 spot and Roswell drops to No. 5.

In Class AAAAA, No. 1 Pope claimed its seventh straight area duals championship with a 42-25 win over Creekview in the final round. No. 2 Ware County won its third consecutive region championship and will face Pope to open the state tournament.

In Class AAAA, Carrollton placed third in its Area 5-AAAA duals after losing to Alexander and Fayette County. The Trojans fall out down six spots to No. 9 as a result. Fayette County debuts at No. 5. Gilmer, Alexander and South Effingham remain the at the top of Class AAAA.

In Class AAA, Morgan County jumps Buford for the No. 3 spot after winning the Area 1-AAA dual championship. No. 1 Banks County its area championship over Buford and No. 2 Woodward Academy remains No. 2 after its area championship.

In Class AA, No. 1 Jefferson guarded its top ranked status with an area title and No. 1 seed heading into the state tournament. No. 2 Bremen won the Area 2-AA title and No. 3 Toombs County secured its spot in the Elite 8 this week with a 52-24 win over East Laurens an Area 1-AA championship.

In Class A, No. 1 Gordon Lee and No. 2 Commerce remain the same, but Greater Atlanta Christian and Holy Innocents’ took a slide after failing to qualify for the state tournament. Turner County and Treutlen debut in the poll.


1. Archer

2. Collins Hill

3. Camden County

4. Etowah

5. Roswell

6. North Gwinnett

7. Chattahoochee

8. Grayson

9. Parkview

10. North Forsyth



1. Pope

2. Ware County

3. Whitewater

4. Ola

5. Creekview

6. Woodland-Cartersville

7. Effingham County

8. Richmond Hill

9. Allatoona

10. Warner Robins

Class AAAA

1. Gilmer

2. Alexander

3. South Effingham

4. Marist

5. Fayette County

6. West Laurens

7. Locust Grove

8. Heritage-Catoosa

9. Carrollton

10. Southeast Whitfield

Class AAA

1. Banks County

2. Woodward Academy

3. Buford

4. Oconee County

5. Morgan County

6. Sonoraville

7. Rockmart

8. Jackson County

9. McNair

10. Elbert County

Class AA

1. Jefferson

2. Bremen

3. Toombs County

5. Social Circle

6. Lovett

10. Spencer

7. Fitzgerald

8. East Laurens

9. Greater Atlanta Christian

10. Monticello

Class A

1. Gordon Lee

2. Commerce

3. Mt. Zion-Carroll

4. Eagle’s Landing Christian

5. Athens Christian

6. Strong Rock Christian

7. Treutlen

8. Turner County

9. Holy Innocents’

10. Mt. Vernon


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply