Buford class of Class AAA poll

Rob Saye

The Buford Wolves captured the program’s fifth state title in the last six years in December, beating out No. 5 St. Pius X to claim the No. 1 Wolves’ first Class AAA title. Since 2001, Buford has won eight titles. Jess Simpson’s team will enter 2013 with options under center in seniors Montgomery VanGorder and Taylor Mitchell. Thomas Wilson and Tre’ Neal should give the quarterbacks a pair of playmakers while Zavior Hoxie could tote the mail as the workhorse tailback. Defensively, Korie Rogers is a star at linebacker. The offensive line could be a concern after losing three starters but Nick Polinio is a budding star

Peach County last won a state title in 2009, but the Trojans looked dominating at times last season before falling to North Hall in the quarterfinals. The offense will likely be based around running back Keyshawn Lowe after the departure of Demarcus Robinson, but Chad Campbell does have a stable of other receivers for quarterback Greg Williams.

Thomson last won a state title in 2002 when the Bulldogs captured the AAAA title. Last year’s edition started 12-0 before falling to No. 6 Cartersville. Coach Milan Turner’s team will have Chris Tutt back under center, but the Bulldogs must replace star tailback Chris Jordan, who had more than 2,000 yards and 20 touchdowns last year.

Cartersville will once again be dangerous with Brooks Barden back after leading the offense to 40 points per game in 2012 and a berth in the semifinals.

1. Buford

2. Peach County

3. Thomson

4. Carver-Columbus

5. St. Pius X

6. Cartersville

7. North Hall

8. Washington County

9. Blessed Trinity

10. North Oconee


Tags: , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply