Final Regular-Season Football Rankings

Tift County (9-1) enters the playoffs with momentum. Credit: Hall Shots Photography

Class AAAAAAA saw McEachern drop out of the rankings after a loss to crosstown rival Hillgrove. That was the only movement in the state’s biggest classification as Mill Creek took its place at No. 10.

Class AAAAAA saw shakeups. Lee County moved up one place to No. 3 after its win over Coffee, which traded places with the Trojans. Losses by Harrison, Stephenson and Dalton paved the way for Glynn and Brunswick to make the Top 10. Dalton and Stephenson dropped out after blowout Ls, and Harrison is hanging on at No. 10.

In Class AAAAA, defending state champion Rome enters the playoffs No. 1 with an active 22-game winning streak. Runner-up Buford holds down the No. 2 slot while undefeated Stockbridge and Warner Robins round out the top 5 with Jones County.Class AAAA’s four unbeaten teams (Cartersville, Marist, Burke County, Ridgeland) lead the poll with Blessed Trinity rounding out the top 5. Cedartown’s 9-1 season and second place finish in Region 5 behind Cartersville is good enough for the No. 8 slot. Troup’s No. 10 ranking makes Region 5 the only region to put three teams in the poll.

In Class AAA and AA, two more dominant teams continued to rack up big wins. Cedar Grove in AAA and Benedictine in AA enter the playoffs both coming off back-to-back shutouts.

Class A-Private saw movement this week, as Athens Academy defeated rival Prince Avenue Christian. The two swapped places, with Athens Academy moving to No. 2 and Prince Avenue now at No. 4. Aquinas jumped back into the rankings with a win over Stratford Academy, and the two are now No. 7 and No. 8, respectively.

At the top of Class A-Public, No. 1 Manchester survived a test by No. 5 Macon County, winning 22-20 to stay undefeated.

1. Lowndes
2. Archer
3. Walton
4. Grayson
5. North Gwinnett
6. Tift County
7. Brookwood
8. South Forsyth
9. Colquitt County
10. Mill Creek

1. Tucker
2. Mays
3. Lee County
4. Coffee
5. Northside-Warner Robins
6. Alpharetta
7. Douglas County
8. Glynn Academy
9. Brunswick
10. Harrison

1. Rome
2. Buford
3. Stockbridge
4. Warner Robins
5. Jones County
6. Griffin
7. Starr’s Mill
8. Bainbridge
9. Wayne County
10. Carrollton

Class AAAA
1. Cartersville
2. Marist
3. Burke County
4. Ridgeland
5. Blessed Trinity
6. Thomson
7. Woodward Academy
8. Cedartown
9. Mary Persons
10. Troup

Class AAA
1. Cedar Grove
2. Peach County
3. Greater Atlanta Christian
4. Calhoun
5. Jenkins
6. Crisp County
7. Morgan County
8. Bremen
9. Lovett
10. Westminster

Class AA
1. Benedictine
2. Hapeville Charter
3. Screven County
4. Thomasville
5. Rabun County
6. Brooks County
7. Dodge County
8. Heard County
9. Callaway
10. Jefferson County

Class A-Private
1. Eagle’s Landing Christian
2. Athens Academy
3. Mount Paran Christian
4. Prince Avenue Christian
5. Wesleyan
6. Mount Pisgah Christian
7. Aquinas
8. Stratford Academy
9. Calvary Day
10. Tattnall Square

Class A-Public
1. Manchester
2. Irwin County
3. Clinch County
4. Emanuel County Institute
5. Macon County
6. Charlton County
7. Commerce
8. Trion
9. Mt. Zion-Carroll
10. Washington-Wilkes

Tags: , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply