After 55 years, Dekalb’s Lakeside High School gets Sports Hall of Fame

Legendary Georgia high school football coach Wayman Creel, Super Bowl-winning cornerback Dick Conn and seven-time state champion runner Joe Thorne lead a class of 31 that will be inducted into the inaugural class of the Lakeside High School Hall of Fame.

The school, which opened in 1964 and won 26 team state championships in the 1970’s, will honor the inductees at an April 27 ceremony and dinner at Lakeside. The evening is open to the public and there will be a red carpet walk and coat, medallion and plaque ceremony. The celebration will also include a hanging of the plaques on the Lakeside High School Hall of Fame Wall.

The inductees were chosen by a group of former Lakeside student-athletes. The Lakeside Foundation is also playing a role in the new Hall as well as the popular Lakeside Masters Golf Tournament.

In addition to Conn, Thorne and Creel, who passed away in 1990, the class includes by sport:

Football: Jack Jones, Ed Butler, Jack Fuqua, Mike Johnson, Jack Bowen, Coach Dave Redford, Spencer Nelms, Greg Davis and Coach Phil Lindsey.

Boy’s Basketball: Pete Fusi

Baseball: Gene Ammann and Ron Cash

Soccer: Coach Jim Mitchell, Tom Manget, John Manget and Lane Kenworthy

Cross Country: Coach Eddie Roberts and Joe Thorne

Tennis: Lianna Bebeau

Swimming: Coach Avalee Spinks and Renee Loisel

Track and Field: Robbie Horton

Gymnastics: Coach Lucia Norwood, Jeff Morrison, Barbara Hall and Karen Loewen

Wrestling: Bryan Carlisle

The committee is also giving a special award every year to someone that was not an athlete but their contributions to the athletic program were great. The award and winner will be inducted into the Hall of Fame with the coaches and student-athletes and will be called the John Kicklighter Service Award. The first recipient will be John Kicklighter, who passed away in 2012 but as principal of the school from 1970-84 was instrumental to Lakeside’s success both in the classroom and on the field.

The class also voted in John Kalvelage for wrestling and Grant Carlson for soccer but to be inducted into the class a living athlete or coach must be at the ceremony. Kalvelage and Carlson will be inducted into the 2020 class.

Tickets to the event will be available soon. For more information check out the Lakeside High School Sports Hall of Fame page on Facebook or call or email I.J. Rosenberg at 404-246-7819/

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “After 55 years, Dekalb’s Lakeside High School gets Sports Hall of Fame”

  1. Bob
    March 15, 2019 at 4:54 pm #

    I think you should consider Tommy Tabb. He was the State AAA pole vault champion, the Viking award recipient in Track and Volleyball and lettered in basketball and wrestling.

  2. 1967-70 Football
    March 18, 2019 at 6:45 pm #

    You have degraded the basic fundamentals of team established in the beginning of this historic program. Individual recognition is best observed by team members sharing a moment in time .Championships are made by all coaches by all team members, by all trainers , equipment managers and staff ,sorry to say but you had to live the moment to understand. It was an honor to be a part of history

Leave a Reply