Georgia High School Football Hall of Fame reveals Class of 2024 inductees

The Georgia High School Football Hall of Fame’s 30-member Class of 2024 is set and will be inducted in a ceremony on Saturday, Oct. 26 at the College Football Hall of Fame. Board members of the Hall of Fame began submitting nominees for the Hall’s third class in early spring and then held committee votes before the final ballot was narrowed down to 100 names in mid-March. Once the ballot was set, each board member was required to vote for 30 players that spanned across these eras (Pre-1948, 1948-59, 1960’s, GIA, 1970’s, 1980’s, 1990’s, 2000’s). The top two from each era and a minimum of seven linemen were guaranteed spots, but neither requirement factored in and the top 30 vote-getters ultimately formed the class. The board’s ballots were all submitted by Monday, May 20, but a three-way tie for the final spot forced a runoff and the 30-player class became official Tuesday evening.

There were 10 first-time nominees that were voted into the 2024 class, 14 individuals that have appeared on all three ballots and six guys that debuted last year that were successful in their second attempt. Additionally, 22 of the 30 inductees are the first players from their respective school to enter the hall.

UGA led all colleges with nine former Bulldogs represented and Georgia Tech accounted for eight. For Georgia, Hutson Mason (Lassiter), Alec Ogletree (Newnan), Leonard Pope (Americus), David Greene (South Gwinnett) and Thomas Davis (Randolph-Clay) are five products of the Mark Richt-era that got in. Pope joins 1974 Americus alum Kent Hill as the only pair of inductees from the same high school and they graduated 27 years apart.

Georgia Tech’s group includes Kell’s Jonathan Dwyer and West Laurens’ Demaryius Thomas, who were both teammates under Paul Johnson on the Yellow Jackets’ 2009 ACC Championship Team. The other Yellow Jackets include Cartersville’s Robert Lavette, Thomas County Central’s Joe Burns, Thomson’s Jerry May, Decatur’s Frank Broyles and Riverside Military’s Everett Strupper.

“This is an impossible ballot,” said Score Atlanta President I.J. Rosenberg, who is the executive director of the Hall. “The classes fell into place easily the first two years but now the players are grouped closer together. I also was glad to see Georgia Tech ad almost as many inductees as Georgia. I think that will serve well for what we used to call ‘Good Old Fashioned Hate’ at the induction ceremony. I also will mention one inductee that was voted in and that was Lassiter quarterback Hutson Mason. he started at Georgia for one year and didn’t play in the NFL, but his high school career was one of the best high school quarterbacks ever in Georgia. He deserves a spot in the Hall for not only his tremendous passing numbers, but also the fact that he was the first great spread quarterback in Georgia.”

There are 12 players that won state championships and Mason, Burns and LaGrange’s Tray Blackmon are the three inductees that were All-Classification Players of the Year during their varsity careers.



Everett Strupper, Riverside Military 1913

Frank Broyles, Decatur 1941


Len Hauss, Wayne County 1959

Lauren Hargrove, Fitzgerald 1948


Alfred Jenkins, Hogansville, 1968

Edgar Chandler, Cedartown, 1963


Jeff Bower, Roswell, 1970

Andy Spiva, Chamblee, 1972

Ben Zambiasi, Mount de Sales, 1973

Kent Hill, Americus, 1974

Homer Jordan, Cedar Shoals, 1978


Jessie Tuggle, Griffin, 1982

Jerry Mays, Thomson, 1984

Robert Lavette, Cartersville, 1980

Bill Mayo, Dalton, 1980

David Rocker, Fulton, 1986


Joe Burns, Thomas County Central, 1997

Terry Harvey, Dacula, 1990

David Greene, South Gwinnett, 1999


Alec Ogletree, Newnan, 2009

Demaryius Thomas, West Laurens, 2005

Hutson Mason, Lassiter 2009

Thomas Davis, Randolph-Clay, 2000

Tray Blackmon, LaGrange, 2004

Jonathan Dwyer, Kell, 2006

Leonard Pope, Americus, 2001


Tommy Hart, Ballard-Hudson, 1963

George Atkinson, Johnson-Savannah, 1963

Silas Jamison, Washington, 1959

Jack Pitts, Trinity, 1965



Julius Adams (Ballard-Hudson, 1965)

Jeff Backus (Norcross, 1995)

Bruce Bennett (Valdosta, 1961)

Mike Bobo (Thomasville, 1992)

Reggie Brown (Carrollton, 1998)

Ronnie Brown (Cartersville, 1999)

Quincy Carter (Southwest DeKalb, 1995)

Rennie Curran (Brookwood, 2006)

John Davis (Gilmer, 1982)

Ray Donaldson (East Rome, 1975)

Anthony Flanagan (Southwest Atlanta, 1973)

Randall Godfrey (Lowndes, 1991)

Ray Goff (Moultrie, 1972)

Charles Grant (Miller County, 1997)

Deon Grant (Josey, 1995)

Ernie Green (Spencer, 1957)

Mackel Harris (Americus, 1975)

Bill Hartman (Georgia Military Prep, 1933)

Billy Henderson (Lanier-Macon, 1945)

Keith Henderson (Cartersville, 1984)

Charles Johnson (Hawkinsville, 2003)

Jarvis Jones (Carver-Columbus, 2008)

Eddie Lee Ivery (Thomson, 1974)

Jamal Lewis (Douglass, 1996)

Billy Lothridge (Gainesville, 1959)

Guy McIntyre (Thomasville, 1978)

Adam Meadows (McEachern, 1991)

Al Pinkins (Mitchell-Baker, 1990)

Dan Reeves (Americus, 1960)

Pepper Rodgers (Brown, 1949)

Buzy Rosenberg (Northside-Atlanta, 1968)

Lucius Sanford (West Fulton, 1973)

Jeff Saturday (Shamrock, 1992)

D.J. Shockley (North Clayton, 2000)

Vernon “Catfish” Smith (Lanier-Macon, 1927)

Jon Stinchcomb (Parkview, 1997)

Marcus Stroud (Brooks County, 1994)

Ken Swilling (Stephens County, 1987)

Pat Swilling (Stephens County, 1981)

Scott Woerner (Jonesboro, 1976)



William Andrews (Thomasville, 1974 senior season)

Buck Belue (Valdosta, 1977)

Eric Berry (Creekside, 2006)

Emerson Boozer (Laney, 1961)

James Brooks (Warner Robins, 1976)

Clint Castleberry (Boys, 1941)

Bill Curry (College Park, 1959)

Charlie Dudish (Avondale, 1967)

Pat Dye (Richmond Academy, 1956)

Terrence Edwards (Washington County, 1997)

Jeff Francoeur (Parkview, 2001)

Stan Gann (Northside, 1957)

Andre Hastings (Morrow, 1989)

Garrison Hearst (Lincoln County 1989)

Andy Johnson (Athens, 1969)

Chip Kell (Avondale 1966)

Larry Kinnebrew (East Rome, 1977)

George Maloof (Marist, 1947)

Bob McWhorter (Gordon Military, 1909)

Larry Morris (Decatur, 1950)

David Pollack (Shiloh, 2000)

Tracy Rocker (Fulton, 1983)

George Rogers (Duluth, 1976)

Stan Rome (Valdosta, 1973)

Clarence Scott (Trinity, 1966)

Ron Simmons (Warner Robins, 1976)

Otis Sistrunk (Spencer, 1964)

Takeo Spikes (Washington County, 1994)

Bill Stanfill (Cairo, 1964)

Matt Stinchcomb (Parkview, 1994)

Darius Walker (Buford, 2004)

Herschel Walker (Johnson County, 1979)

Hines Ward (Forest Park, 1993)

Charlie Ward (Thomasville, 1987)

Monte Williams (Commerce, 2000)

Eric Zeier (Marietta, 1990)



Champ Bailey (Charlton County, 1995 senior season)

Mel Blount (Lyons Industrial, 1965)

Richard Dent (Murphy, 1978)

Ray Guy (Thomson, 1968)

Calvin Johnson (Sandy Creek, 2003)

Jim Parker (Ballard Hudson, 1953) – Canton, Ohio

Shannon Sharpe (Glennville, 1985)

Fran Tarkenton (Athens, 1957)

Rayfield Wright (Fairmont, 1963)


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply