Region shuffling stirs dormant rivalries

Sonny Kennedy



The new regions have been set for the 2014-2016 seasons and the movement created plenty of interesting storylines. Tucker’s enrollment categorized them to move up to Class AAAAAA and the region alignments put them in the same region (Region 2) as Lovejoy. These two football powerhouses played in the 2011 Class AAAAA State Championship the year before Class AAAAAA was inaugurated. Tucker won 22-7 to claim the state title and the matchup next season between these two schools will be one of the more anticipated football games of the season.


Region 1 lost Coffee and Brunswick and will add Lee County. Camden County will remain in Region 1 for football only. Region 3 saw movement as Tri-Cities dropped a classification and Campbell, Pebblebrook and Westlake moved in from their current place in Region 4. Region 4 traded those three teams for North Paulding and Osborne. Region 5 added Pope and Region 6 will add Habersham Central and Northview.




Region 1 got a makeover with LaGrange, Carver-Columbus and Shaw. Bainbridge and Thomas County Central will compete in Region 1 for football only. Current AAAAAA Coffee and Brunswick are now classed into Region 3 in a sub-region with Camden County, Glynn Academy and Ware County. Camden County will compete in every sport but football in Class AAAAA. Region 7 is no longer a dived region and Cambridge, Creekview, Forsyth Central, Kell, North Atlanta, North Springs, Riverwood, River Ridge, Sequoyah and Sprayberry consist of the new 10-team region. Region 6 will divide a total of 17 teams into sub-regions with M.L. King, Miller Grove, Stephenson and Southwest DeKalb all housed in Sub-region A.


Class AAAA


Things interesting in Class AAAA as Region 5 welcomes Woodward Academy who is moving up from Class AAA. Carrollton, Fayette County, Grady, Pike County, Sandy Creek, Troup, Whitewater and Woodward Academy comprise of a solid Region 5. St. Pius X has a new Class AAAA home and will be in Region 6 with Arabia Mountain, Chamblee, Columbia, Cross Keys, Lithonia, Marist, Redan and Stone Mountain. The St. Pius X and Marist rivalry will be renewed. Region 7 welcomes newcomer Cartersville in a field with Gilmer, Heritage-Catoosa, Lafayette, Northwest Whitfield, Pickens, Ridgeland and Southeast Whitfield. Buford will be in a 10-team Region 8 with Chestatee, Johnson-Gainesville, Madison County, Monroe Area, North Hall, North Oconee, Stephens County, Walnut Grove and White County.


Class AAA


Calhoun’s move up to Class AAA puts the Yellow Jackets in Region 6 with Coahulla Creek, Gordon Central, Lakeview-Ft. Oglethorpe, Murray County, North Murray, Ringgold and Sonoraville. Jefferson’s jump puts the Dragons in Region 8 with East Jackson, Elbert County, Hart County, Jackson County, Morgan County and Oconee County. Westminster will compete in Class AAA after dominating Class AA in nearly every sport. The Wildcats are in Region 4 Sub-region B with Blessed Trinity, Coretta Scott King, Decatur, Douglass, Therrell and Washington.


Class AA


Class AA and Class AAAAAA are the only classifications without sub-regions. B.E.S.T. Academy, GAC, Hapeville Charter, Holy Innocents’, KIPP Atlanta Charter, Lovett, Pace Academy and Wesleyan will be housed in Region 6. In Region 7, Armuchee, Chattooga, Coosa, Dade County, Darlington, Gordon Lee and Model make up a competitive field.


Class A


This classification has the most teams and Region 1 will have an large 11-team field. Baconton Charter, Baker County, Calhoun County, Miller County, Mitchell County, Pataula Charter, Quitman County, Randolph-Clay, Stewart County, Terrell County and Webster County will all compete in Region 1. Region 2 will remain one of the state’s most competitive football regions with Atkinson County, Charlton County, Clinch County, Echols County, Irwin County, Lanier County, Telfair County, Turner County and Wilcox County. Region 8 consists of a 12-team region with Athens Academy, Athens Christian, Commerce, George Walton Academy, Hebron Christian, Lakeview Academy, Prince Avenue Christian, Providence Christian, Rabun Gap, Tallulah Falls, Towns County and Woody Gap. Region 2 and Region 4 are the smallest with nine teams each.




2014-2016 REGIONS HERE


Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply