Stockbridge uses 10-game win streak to debut in AAAAA poll

Photo by Ty Freeman

In Class AAAAAA, defending champion Tift County used a statement victory over Valdosta to jump Pebblebrook for the No. 3 spot. The Blue Devils led Valdosta 29-9 at the half before cruising to a 61-43 victory. Pebblebrook suffered a 61-54 loss to national power DeMatha (MD) on Saturday. Norcross cracked the top 4 with a 72-61 victory over No. 8 Collins Hill on Tuesday and a 72-64 victory over Madison Academy (AL) in the Hilton Invitational Saturday.

In Class AAAAA, Stockbridge used its current 10-game winning streak to debut at No. 7 in the poll. The 16-4 Tigers visit undefeated and No. 2-ranked McIntosh Tuesday night.

St. Pius caused a shift in Class AAAA with 66-59 win over Columbia last week and replaces the Eagles at No. 4. Carrollton sits at No. 5 and Columbia now takes over No. 6. Westover dropped out of the rankings this week and was replaced by Liberty County at No. 9.

Jenkins 64-48 win over Johnson-Savannah set up an equally impressive 70-57 win over Winston-Salem Prep (NC) in the Hilton Invitational on Saturday and the Warriors are the new No. 2 team in Class AAA. South Atlanta is on a hot-streak that included a 59-49 win over Cedar Grove on Tuesday. Cedar Grove had previously beaten South Atlanta on Dec. 9 72-49 and the 33-point turnaround from their last matchup with the Saints was enough to move South Atlanta to No. 6 in this week’s poll.

In Class AA, Model’s loss to Gordon Lee allowed Coosa to make its debut at No. 10 in this week’s poll. No new teams entered this week’s Class A top 10 but Whitefield Academy jumped Treutlen for No. 5 after its 71-53 victory over Landmark Christian on Saturday.



1. Wheeler

2. Shiloh

3. Tift County

4. Pebblebrook

5. Norcross

6. Tucker

7. Douglas County

8. Collins Hill

9. Hillgrove

10. Alpharetta



1. Miller Grove

2. McIntosh

3. Allatoona

4. Gainesville

5. M.L. King

6. Brunswick

7. Stockbridge

8. Warner Robins

9. Apalachee

10. LaGrange


Class AAAA

1. Jonesboro

2. Johnson-Gainesville

3. Lithonia

4. St. Pius

5. Carrollton

6. Columbia

7. Americus-Sumter

8. Albany

9. Liberty County

10. Burke County


Class AAA

1. Laney

2. Jenkins

3. Cedar Grove

4. Morgan County

5. Johnson-Savannah

6. South Atlanta

7. Blessed Trinity

8. Butler

9. Rutland

10. Peach County


Class AA

1. Pace Academy

2. Seminole County

3. Holy Innocents’

4. Vidalia

5. Greater Atlanta Christian

6. Crawford County

7. Harlem

8. Thomasville

9. Bryan County

10. Coosa


Class A

1. St. Francis

2. Greenforest Christian

3. Athens Christian

4. Hancock Central

5. Whitefield Academy

6. Treutlen

7. Wilkinson County

8. Greenville

9. Calhoun County

10. Turner County



Tags: , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply