Clarkston boys, Dunwoody girls win county titles

DeKalb County Public Schools

The Clarkston boys and the Dunwoody girls each won at the DeKalb County Championships Tuesday in Decatur. The Angoras dominated the boys competition with five runners in the top 10 and 23 total points. Dunwoody had five girls finish in the top 11 and won the meet with 29 points.

The Lakeside girls came in second with 41 points and five runners in the top 14. Druid Hills, Columbia and Chamblee rounded out the top five. Lakeside also came in second in the boys rankings and was followed by Druid Hills, Dunwoody and Chamblee.

Ermais Tewolde of Druid Hills won the boys race with a time of 17:12.58, beating out three Clarkston harriers who finished second through fourth (Gidey Sahlu, Awet Fitwi, Suheib Muhammed).

Dunwoody’s Kelly May Sheehan won the girls race in a time of 20:39.87. Corrie Smith of Lakeside took second with a time of 20:54.22 and Ansley Heavern of Dunwoody came in third at 21:03.62. Morgan Mihalis (21:08.64) of Lakeside took fourth and Dunwoody’s Samantha Cavern took fifth (21:13.21).

The McIntosh girls and the Whitewater boys won the Fayette County Championships Saturday at Sandy Creek. Parker Nail of Whitewater won the boys race (16:35.25) while Whitewater freshman Ashley McMahon won the girls race.

Whitewater, in fact, had four of the top five finishers in the boys race with Don Harp taking second in 16:54.99, Harry Harp in fourth at 17:15.61 and Seamus Murrock taking fifth in 17:19.49. Conner Reynolds of McIntosh broke up the run of Wildcats with a third-place time of 17:10.71.

McIntosh came in second in the boys race with 36 points, just behind Whitewater’s 30. Sandy Creek took third with 60 points while Starr’s Mill, Fayette County and Our Lady of Mercy rounded out the contestants.

In the girls race, McMahon was trailed by McIntosh’s Alyssa LeClaire, who turned in a time of 20:00.07. Rachel Ward, also of McIntosh, finished in third with a time of 20:41.31. Sixth-grader Amaya Anderson competed and took fourth in 20:47.06 while Brianna Sattinger rounded out the top five with a time of 20:55.24.

Whitewater took second in the girls race with 56 points, behind McIntosh’s 26. Fayette County, Sandy Creek and Starr’s Mill rounded out the top five.

Several Georgia high schools took part in the Great American XC Festival in Cary, N.C. The Mill Creek boys came in second in the Boys Invitational- Blue while St. Pius X came in seventh and Marist took 10th. Ethan LoCicero came in seventh with a time of 16:55.24.

Parkview came in second in the Red race while Darlington’s Spencer Fields won the race with a time of 15:55.31. Hebron Christian’s Colson Hagan took fifth with a time of 16:24.73. North Cobb took sixth in the seeded race.

Hebron Christian won the girls Blue race as junior Maddy Howe took third with a time of 20:20.55. Darlington’s Stephanie Ward won the girls race with a time of 18:50.54 and Melody Weiler took fourth in 19:18.05. In the team standings, St. Pius X took third, Darlington fourth and Parkview fifth.






1. Marietta

2. Brookwood

3. Walton

4. Etowah

5. Mill Creek

6. West Forsyth

7. Peachtree Ridge

8. South Forsyth

9. Lakeside-DeKalb

10. Milton



1. Clarkston

2. Forsyth Central

3. Flowery Branch

4. Alexander

5. Starr’s Mill

6. McIntosh

7. Morrow

8. Union Grove

9. Lakeside-Evans

10. Cambridge


Class AAAA

1. St. Pius X

2. North Hall

3. Woodward Academy

4. Marist

5. North Oconee

6. Whitewater

7. Johnson-Gainesville

8. Pickens County

9. White County

10. Wayne County


Class AAA

1. East Jackson

2. Westminster

3. Blessed Trinity

4. Oconee County

5. Savannah Christian

6. Coahulla Creek

7. Banks County

8. West Hall

9. Dawson County

10. Hart County


Class AA

1. Pace Academy

2. Wesleyan

3. Bleckley County

4. Lovett

5. Benedictine

6. Holy Innocents’

7. Union County

8. Darlington

9. Lamar County

10. Berrien


Class A

1. Trion

2. Jenkins County

3. Hebron Christian

4. Baconton Charter

5. Paideia

6. Landmark Christian

7. Georgia Military

8. Hawkinsville

9. Whitefield Academy

10. Galloway







1. South Forsyth

2. Etowah

3. Mill Creek

4. Harrison

5. Milton

6. Walton

7. Brookwood

8. Northview

9. Pope

10. Marietta



1. McIntosh

2. Northgate

3. Starr’s Mill

4. Dunwoody

5. Cambridge

6. Columbus

7. Flowery Branch

8. Creekview

9. Loganville

10. Union Grove


Class AAAA

1. Marist

2. Heritage-Catoosa

3. St. Pius X

4. White County

5. North Oconee

6. Buford

7. Whitewater

8. Woodward Academy

9. North Hall

10. Pickens County


Class AAA

1. Westminster

2. Blessed Trinity

3. Hart County

4. Oconee County

5. Savannah Arts

6. Dawson County

7. Jefferson

8. Coahulla Creek

9. Banks County

10. Morgan County


Class AA

1. Darlington

2. Lovett

3. Wesleyan

4. Pace Academy

5. Holy Innocents’

6. St. Vincent’s

7. Model

8. Landmark Christian

9. Bremen

10. Bleckley County


Class A

1. Landmark Christian

2. Hawkinsville

3. Jenkins County

4. Commerce

5. Hebron Christian

6. Trion

7. Marion County

8. Athens Christian

9. Providence Christian

10. Towns County


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply