Gwinnett dominates initial softball poll


In Class AAAAAA, Gwinnett County dominates the poll with four teams in the top six. Archer shortstop Alesha Mann has been a four-year starter and will head to Georgia Southern after her senior season. Mann has a career .396 batting average and earned Gwinnett Daily Post 2013 Super Six Softball selection. Mill Creek senior Morgan Bell drove in 45 runs last season for the No. 4 Lady Hawks.


Class AAAAA has defending champion Union Grove at No. 1 with Pope coming in as a sleeper at No. 2. The Greyhounds had an early exit in the 2012 postseason, but return a stout defense and have great pitching in junior Kelly Barnhill.


Northwest Whitfield lost its ace in Emily Boyd, but the defending Class AAAA champs still come in at No. 1. Junior Brileigh Baggett could be the next standout to take the mound for the Lady Bruins.


Buford won its sixth straight GHSA title and comes in as a clear No. 1 in Class AAA. At the end of the season the Lady Wolves finished with a top 10 ranking in the nation. Junior Bria Bush is committed to Tennessee and returns as last year’s GACA’s Class AAA Pitcher of the year. Buford went 22-2 with Bush on the hill. Senior Niki Cook finished with a .469 batting average as a junior and stole 44 bases. The leadoff hitter was named Georgia Dugout Club’s AAA state player of the year.


Dade County won its first state title since 2004 last season, but comes in at No. 2 behind Class AA poll leader Wesleyan. UGA commit Landyn Duley returns to her senior season carrying a .417 career batting average for the Lady Wolves.


Class A features a pair of defending champions in the top two spots. Gordon Lee won a third straight state title with the Class-A Public crown, and Mt. Pisgah claimed the private bracket.



1. Archer

2. Collins Hill

3. Kennesaw Mountain

4. Hillgrove

5. North Gwinnett

6. Mill Creek

7. Harrison

8. Brookwood

9. Alcovy

10. Lassiter



1. Union Grove

2. Pope

3. Allatoona

4. Whitewater

5. Northgate

6. Greenbrier

7. South Paulding

8. Heritage-Conyers

9. Ola

10. Loganville



1. NW Whitfield

2. Madison County

3. Heritage-Catoosa

4. Wayne County

5. West Laurens

6. Columbus

7. Carrollton

8. South Effingham

9. Rutland

10. Marist



1. Buford

2. Central-Carroll

3. Ringgold

4. Jackson County

5. Chapel Hill

6. Pike County

7. Blessed Trinity

8. Pierce County

9. Fannin County

10. Franklin County



1. Wesleyan

2. Dade County

3. Heard County

4. Bacon County

5. Vidalia

6. Cook

7. Calhoun

8. Bremen

9. Harlem

10. Jeff Davis



1. Gordon Lee

2. Mt. Pisgah

3. Prince Ave. Christian

4. Savannah Christian

5. Georgia Military

6. George Walton Academy

7. Seminole County

8. Mt. Zion-Carroll

9. Schley County

10. Darlington

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply