Vandagriff named finalist for the National Quarterback of the Year

UGA football commit and Prince Avenue Christian star Brock Vandagriff has been recognized nationally by the National Quarterback Club. The five-star recruit is one of 11 high school quarterbacks named to the club’s finalists watch list for the 2020 National High School Quarterback of the Year Award.

High School Quarterback sensation Brock Vandagriff has just been recently been named as one of 11 high school quarterbacks named to the quarterback club’s finalists watch list for the 2020 National High School Quarterback of the Year Award. Vandagriff who is currently committed to the University of Georgia is with a doubt one of the best high school quarterbacks this year. The Prince Avenue Quarterback at this moment has his team advancing to the second round with a 63-28 win over Hebron Christian Academy. With Vandagriff under center the Wolverines posted a 9-1 record and a 3-0 record within the 1A Private Class.

The way Vandagriff has played throughout his career has gotten people to see what a once in a generation type of talent he is at the quarterback position. Even as a freshman he played a little bit of punter and kicker on the kickoff returns and even won the kicking competition two years ago at the Georgia Elite Classic. He really seems like a player that can do it all and passing and running with the football seems to be his strong suit. In his career he’s has thrown for 98 touchdowns, rushed for 44, and has caught another four. This season, the UGA commit has thrown for over 3,000 yards with a career-high 37 passing touchdowns. Being recognized as the National Quarterback of the Year would cement the many accomplishments of Vandagriff’s phenomenal varsity career and he is also being considered for the ultimate honor—Gatorade National Player of the Year.

The other finalists for this prestigious reward includes Ohio State commit Kyle McCord, Michigan commit J.J. McCarthy and Alabama commit Jalen Milroe. Vandagriff is also one of 11 quarterbacks to be named as a finalist for this reward. Out of the 37 years this award has been given quarterbacks have won 26 times and have also won the last six times in a row. His numbers and stats speak for themselves and many people would probably deem him as one of the favorites to win this thing. The ceremony to award the winner will take place in February over in Scottsdale, Arizona. If Vandagriff leads his team to their first state title in school history and excels doing it that could definitely certify him as the winner.

Past winners of the award includes Kyler Murray, Tim Couch, Trevor Lawerence, and Bryce Young. To be mentioned with those names speaks to the level of play this guy has been showcasing over the past four years and the one thing that many of these winners have in common is that they all went on to play in the NFL. Vandagriff at this point looks like he will have a very productive college career and hopefully a successful career in the NFL. We all are looking forward to see how hard he performs for the rest of the season and what he’ll do once he reaches the campus of the University of Georgia.



No comments yet.

Leave a Reply